Let’s pretend…

changeDarling friends!

I’ve been up for hours, well before dawn, on this day that eclipses others. (See what I did there? Hehe.) Now, as the sun and moon move out of each other’s way, I find I am beyond weary. My lids are heavy and while my heart is not, I’m fighting back tears for what seems the zillionth time of late. When I open my eyes, time has leapt ahead. (No, I did not doze off.) It is after 12 and for the third time today, I see double numbers. First 10:10, then 11:11 and now it is 12:12. I am not alone, so say the numbers and it makes sense then that I should have a heart to heart with the collective of which I am the centre. I’m going to remind myself and anyone listening that enough is enough.

From this moment forward, I intend a different life. No more of this wishy-washy stuff. Have you ever done that? Sort of grabbed yourself by the proverbial arse and said “NO MORE”. Of course I’ll waiver an hour from now, but with each attempt to dig in, I think I’m helping myself deepen my resolve overall and make my way clearer. I’m certainly clearer about what I do NOT want. I just need to visualize what I do want and make that my permanent vision. In the meantime, I’m going to pretend I’m there.

Yesterday I met a woman whose life I admire. We’re nothing alike – or rather we were nothing alike because with the exception of two variables we’ve many similarities now. One of the variables is that she has the freedom and security afforded by money. Unlike many woman, she is self-made as well, her wealth the result of her success. She told me she achieved by pretending. When she doubted herself, she pretended. That strategy worked well for her and I like it, so I’m going to pretend.

I’m going to pretend I’m a successful writer who is making a living with her stories. I’m going to pretend I have a home. I’m going to pretend “Just for Today” is fully operational. I’m going to pretend I am okay. And I believe if I pretend with bravery and courage, I’ll be okay – eventually.

So my wish is for the confidence to pretend. Pretend wisely, pretend with valour. Pretend you are looking at a new earth, cherished and healthy. Pretend all peoples are fed and housed, healthy in mind and body. Pretend there is peace. Pretend you are happy, pretend you love and are loved. Pretend you are grateful. Pretend for no one else but yourself so that you can be the most you can be.  Keep pretending with your head held high. Pretend and see what happens.

Until tomorrow…

4 thoughts on “Let’s pretend…

  1. Quote from Bob Dylan:
    Act the way you’d like to be and soon you’ll be the way you’d like to act.
    https://www.goodreads.com/quotes/335938-act-the-way-you-d-like-to-be-and-soon-you-ll
    Perhaps it’s good to avoid the word “pretend” as it implies something that’s not genuine. If you want to behave a certain way to improve your way of life, I think that’s a noble thing (more than the word “pretending” suggests).
    Take care,
    J

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Frances Sullivan

      Thank you for your thoughtful comment. I get it! Pretending, though, isn’t always disingenuous, but I understand your point. Also, when I act differently to what I think or feel in the hope of overcoming something, I am not being truly genuine in that moment, either, but rather making a choice because I believe it will help me. Anywho, the idea I was trying to convey was to believe yourself capable even if not feeling that way and that hopefully, you would gain the trait or strength you seek. Perhaps I did not do so well getting that message across so I will try again. 😉

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I thought you got the message across perfectly well. It was a really minor thing – just about the importance of the language we use and subconsciously how it might make us feel. And you’re right – pretending as kids is often seen as a fun way of using our imagination.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Frances Sullivan

    Got it. And yes, language is important – part of my mandate for the blog actually – so thank you very much for your input. Love it. xx

    Like

Leave a Reply

