Yesterday is not today…

Dunster.jpgI wrote a blog yesterday but did not post it – obviously. The content is raw and I’m not sure I’m ready to release it. Yes, I know, I’m supposed to be honest, but not sure I’m ready for this degree of honesty. Anywho, I’m not posting it tonight, either. Maybe tomorrow. Maybe never. We shall see. In the meantime, there’s still a lot of stuff going on in my head that needs to be untethered, but there’ll be no ground breaking prose from yours truly tonight because it is very late and it has been a long – wonderful, but long – day.

My wish today is for a healthy dose of realism and present moment thinking. I visited an ancient castle today and wandered from room to room as thousands have done for a thousand years. Imagine the stories the stones and mortar could tell! In a well-appointed Victorian bedroom, one of the volunteers laughed at my comment about how odd it was to see a 1950s lilac coloured sink against a wall. Incongruous to say the least, I thought. But she supported the decorating faux pas if for no other reason than convenience. In fact she supported the modernization of this massive edifice while cautioning against over-romanticizing the past. “It wasn’t so great. Only the few lived well. It’s important to remember that,” she said. And I smiled.

Until tomorrow…

Leave a Reply

