Trending…

Buddha heartToday I noticed gratitude for a few things. My mind is playing tricks as it is known to do, so amidst the ‘ugh’, feelings of appreciation were welcome. In particular, there are three things I’m grateful for; meditation, yoga, and my ability to do both.

I’m a natural at meditation because I like sitting on me arse, and I can breathe. The former is not a prerequisite while the latter is. Anywho, I would like to say I’ve been a disciplined practitioner since the late sixties, but that would be a lie. I do, however, join the throngs who extol the virtues of meditation. And yes, the results are pretty immediate.

As for yoga, unless you’re living under a rock, you are well aware of its benefits so I’ll not bore you. But my ability, the last but not least on my list, is the true miracle.

I’ll never be the yogi showed in countless pictures splashing on social media, for a lot of obvious reasons, but with practice, my body becomes more flexible and is a more willing player in the dance of movement and flow. Meditation stretches my mind in a similar way, keeping it supple and more able to cope – mostly. I can only strongly recommend both.

So my wish tonight is for flexibility. I don’t believe you need to be a rocket science to figure out there is a link between your body’s health and your mind. Excluding one while vigorously exercising the other is not the best direction to shoot off in. Where’s the balance, eh? There is none. So try to keep the body and the mind moving. And see if, like me, you aren’t filled with gratitude simply because you can.

Until tomorrow…

 

 

2 thoughts on “Trending…

Leave a Reply

