Sober Thoughts…

KindnessMy grocery list used to start with wine. The rest of the list was stuff that went with wine. Beer would make the cut from time to time, but it was mostly wine. And it was usually red although I’d change it up with white from time to time. During the holidays I’d do bubbly. Lovely stuff, that, and perfect if only for special occasions. The most delectable wine I can remember drinking was in, of course, Italy. The worst, Boone’s Farm Apple Wine bought on a whim from a variety store on Jefferson Avenue in St. Clair Shores, MI. I can’t recommend it – the wine, that is.

I wiled away many an hour sipping. There were alcohol induced decisions made that would never have been made if I’d been sober. And while there were plenty of fun times, it’s the reckless behaviour born of over-indulging I recall with disgust. Or should I say, ‘recalled’ with disgust, because with each day I’m able to forgive myself for my past “sins”.

I’m loving how this re-do is helping me to go easier, be gentler. Not just with me, but overall. Oh, of course, I get pissed and frustrated with others. Not walking on water yet. But it’s nice being kind to myself. And when I’m being kind to me, it only makes sense to be kind to others.

There’s another side-effect of being kind and loving towards myself that’s unexpected. It’s easier to eat better, exercise more, sleep, and generally, take proper care of my needs. It’s sort of paying it forward, backward.

And being kind is a really good target to set your aim for, for everything. It’s impossible to feel anything other than grateful when kindness is your guide, or your destination. There’s no agenda, hidden or otherwise, just a heartfelt response to each breathe that enables another opportunity to reach out or in, in kindness.

“When we feel love and kindness toward others, it not only makes others feel loved and cared for, but it helps us also to develop inner happiness and peace.” The 14th Dalai Lama

And that’s a perfectly lovely wish for tonight, yes? No wine…whine not…it’s best wished for sober anywho.

Until tomorrow…

One thought on “Sober Thoughts…

Leave a Reply

