Can You Help Me?

Contrast.jpgHey friends!

It’s been a while. How have you been? Autumn is in full swing for many of you; spring for others. Halloween is approaching. Another Thanksgiving will be celebrated and before you know it a brand new year will be upon us. Time. It passes. Do I make the most of it? Do you? I know I do not but am mulling over some resolutions that might help and I won’t wait till New Year’s Eve to pronounce them.

I’m pretty sure I’ve written about pulling up the old bootstraps and getting on with things as in “must stop procrastinating and complaining”. Yeah. Pretty sure the topic’s been covered, but not sure whether I’ve done much about it. The adage plus ca change, plus c’est la meme chose comes to mind. Translated it means the more things change, the more they stay the same. We all know about that and often kid ourselves about change. But seriously, how does one stimulate the deep change necessary to forever alter a pattern? Well, I’m not sure because I’ve not done it successfully yet, but my circumstances are such that I must ramp up. I am NOT living the life I want. Not even close. It’s time I pull it together! Is making the decision enough though? No, I don’t think it is.

So, here’s what I’m thinking I’ll do. I’ll make a plan, write out a list, and produce a vision board of desires. (My computer’s main page is already a vision board but needs amendment.) I’ll start now by writing out a few questions. I’ll answer them via the blog with an actionable item i.e., what would make me happy today? Answer: Going for a walk on the beach.

This is going to be a challenge for me. I’m a 50,000-foot thinker and usually have difficulty in the moment. I don’t do specifics. But it’s time to get nitty with my gritty. I need help, though. I need feedback.

When I write out the list and the questions and answers, I will post them, of course. Some will likely be “too big” but if they’re in me brain, I’ll write them. If not doable, they can sit as something to hold to – a “for the future” kind of thing. But here’s where I need you. Can you keep me on target? Remember, I’m a pretty solitary woman who has little regular interaction with folks. You who have been following along by reading the blog know me pretty well by now and some of you have extended thoughts that have really helped me. Here’s where I fall down.  I can’t always deploy suggestions – some processes are so foreign to me it’s like rock climbing and I don’t do rocks. I try but only get so far up before I let go. So remember, I’m on my own. Also please understand that I can’t go against my heart. That is straight upstream for me. I’m not a salmon. I prefer to go with the flow rather than fight it. Anywho, that’s enough for today.

I wish for the feelings of happiness and satisfaction. Those feelings can be hard to find some days – those days when the planet’s ablaze, when people take lives, and when your bills are more than you can pay. And it’s okay to notice and see it all. But staying in despair mode will not rebuild the houses or plant new trees. Your misery will not help others mourning lost lives. And dissatisfaction will not pay the bills.

Until tomorrow…

4 thoughts on “Can You Help Me?

Leave a comment